« February 2009 | Main | July 2009 »

May 24, 2009

Cut Your Hair and Put on Some Cologne: Pavement Soundboard, 1996 Cologne




Cologne, GER

In The Mouth Of A Desert
Elevate Me Later
Grave Architecture
Kennel District
Rattled By The Rush
Heaven Is A Truck
Brinx Job
Serpentine Pad
Best Friend's Arm
Half A Canyon
Black Out
Conduit For Sale!
Motion Suggests
Cut Your Hair
Shoot The Singer



May 14, 2009

One of the best blogs I've ever seen: PreWarBlues.org

This is outstanding!



May 13, 2009

Golden Smog @ 1st Ave., MPLS

Courtesy of the Wilco Archive @ owl & bear:


Golden Smog
First Avenue
Minneapolis, MN
December 12th, 1998

source: SBD > DAT > CDR
transfer: CDR(1) > EAC (secure mode w/offsets) > wav
conversion: wav > Flac Frontend
lossy conversion: flac > foobar2000 v0.9.6beta4 LAME [225kbps, v1, fast]
Sector Boundaries verified with Shntool

Disc 1
1. Looking Forward To Seeing You
2. Ill Fated
3. Won't Be Coming Home
4. Lost Love
5. Making Waves
6. White Shell Road
7. To Call My Own
8. Glad and Sorry
9. V
10. He's A Dick
11. Walk Where He Walked
12. Keys
13. I Can't Keep From Talking
14. Jennifer Save Me
15. Pecan Pie
16. Fooled Around and Fell In Love
17. All The Same To Me

Disc 2
1. If I Only Had a Car
2. Until You Came Along
3. Radio King
4. Please Tell My Brother
5. Hurricane
6. Revolution Blues
7. Reflections on Me
8. I Got You
9. Spooky

Gary Louris - vocals/guitar
Dan Murphy - vocals/guitar
Jeff Tweedy - vocals/guitar
Kraig Johnson - vocals/guitar
Marc Perlman - bass/guitar
Jessy Greene - violin
drums - ??


First, you can stream preview the new eponymous Wilco album set to release June 30th.

Then, try a DSBD from Sydney.


Enmore Theatre
Sydney, Australia

1. Sunken Treasure
2. Reservations
3. Remember The Mountain Bed
4. Company In My Back
5. You Are My Face
6. Hell Is Chrome
7. Handshake Drugs
8. Pot Kettle Black
9. A Shot In The Arm
10. Side With The Seeds
11. Via Chicago
12. Impossible Germany
13. It's Just That Simple
14. Pick Up The Change
15. Nothing'severgonnastandinmyway(again)
16. Jesus, Etc.
17. Theologians
18. Walken
19. I'm The Man Who Loves You

Encore 1:
20. Hate It Here
21. Heavy Metal Drummer
22. The Late Greats
23. Red-Eyed And Blue
24. I Got You (At The End Of The Century)
25. Monday
26. Outtasite (Outta Mind)

Warren Zevon w/ Jackson Browne: The Offender Meets the Pretender

Warren Zevon [with Jackson Browne]

VPRO Studio
Hilversum, Holland

FM > ? > trade CD-R > EAC (secure, offsets) > FLAC (level 8, sectors aligned, shntool verified)

01. [2:25.37] [intro]
02. [6:13.24] These Days > [interview] - JB
03. [4:24.52] Cocaine Blues [Davis] - JB
04. [4:45.13] Linda Paloma - JB
05. [4:27.44] Mohammed's Radio - WZ/JB > [interview] - WZ
06. [5:05.44] Frank and Jesse James - WZ/JB
07. [3:28.53] Hasten Down the Wind - WZ
08. [4:52.56] Desperados Under the Eaves > [interview] - WZ
09. [2:50.46] Excitable Boy - WZ > [program ID] - JB
00. [5:17.27] [program ID] - JB > For a Dancer - JB
11. [4:26.41] Something Fine - JB
12. [4:21.55] Carmelita - WZ/JB
13. [3:01.48] Werewolves of London// - WZ/JB
14. [2:09.47] Back Turned Looking Down the Path > [David Lindley intro]
15. [3:57.31] Carmelita
16. [4:12.32] Mohammed's Radio
17. [3:18.06] I'll Sleep When I'm Dead
Total 69:18.56

» t13: track is cut at the end
» t14-t17: filler [1976-12-09 - RAI Congres Building - Amsterdam, Holland]
» This recording circulates as the bootleg, "The Offender Meets the Pretender"
» Updated and uploaded to archive.org on 15 April 2005

May 11, 2009

Led Zeppelin, ca 1973

 A crispy Led Zeppelin soundboard,


The Boys 

Led Zeppelin - Live In Southampton 1973
Label: CMI Music

Date: 22nd January 1973
Location: Old Refectory, Univercity, Southampton, England

Recorded by Eddie Kramer
Mixed by Kevin Shirley

Source: rough multitrack mix-down

Remastered by CMI Music in August 2008

Lineage: EVSD Silver CD->FLAC->WAV->Remaster->FLAC

Total Time: 02:32:28

CD 1 (76:57):

1. Rock And Roll
2. Over The Hills And Far Away
3. Black Dog
4. Misty Mountain Hop
5. Since I've Been Loving You
6. Dancing Days
7. The Song Remains The Same
8. The Rain Song
9. Dazed And Confused

CD 2 (75:30):

1. Stairway To Heaven
2. Whole Lotta Love Medley
~ Everybody Needs Somebody To Love
~ Boogie Chillun'
~ Baby I Don't Care
~ Let's Have A Party
~ I Can't Quit You Baby
3. Heartbreaker
4. Organ Solo
5. Thank You
6. How Many More Times
7. Communication Breakdown

This is my remastered version of this great recording and is made using definitive raw version of this source from Empress Velley "Live At Southampton - Working Tapes" release.
For all who might doesn't know, first leaked R-O version is basically the EV version with some glitches already edited out and with some digital errors (bad CDR copy) on it in addition. "Dancing Days" track is an example.
I fixed all glitches and crackles. Also all three gaps in recording were fixed. No EQ and no Noise Reduction were aplied. Modern standart dynamic compression was applied, so now it sounds as loud and powerful as HTWWW.
All tracks are re-indexed.

BTW, Winston Remaster of this show is great but it sounds so different to the original. Also his mistake is the usage of Presence's source.

September 2008


May 10, 2009

Frank Zappa Sharing a Billing with the Jerry Garcia Band?!

Yes, it happened in Chicago.

This show was in WMV for some reason, so I tried to minimize transcoding by going to WAV and then VBR MP3 using foobar.  Sounds OK, but I wish I had the flacs to make a fresh lossy conversion.

Frank Zappa

08/18/84 (Sat) UIC Pavilion - Chicago, IL

Set 1: Zoot Allures, More Trouble Every Day, Penguin In Bondage, Hot Plate Heaven At The Green Hotel, City Of Tiny Lights, You Are What You Is, Mudd Club, The Meek Shall Inherit Nothing, Dumb All Over, He's So Gay, Bobby Brown, Keep It Greasey, Honey Don't You Want A Man Like Me?, Carol You Fool, Chana In De Bushwop, Let's Move To Cleveland, Cosmik Debris, Sharleena, Ride My Face To Chicago, The Illinois Enema Bandit

Lineup: Frank Zappa, Ike Willis, Ray White, Scott Thunes, Chad Wackerman, Alan Zavod, Bobby Martin.


Also, I have the Jerry Garcia Band opener, but I did not convert these from WMA or edit the tags:

Jerry Garcia Band

08/18/84 (Sat) UIC Pavilion - Chicago, IL

Set 1: Cats Under The Stars, Get Out Of My Life Woman, I'll Take A Melody, Run For The Roses, Gomorrah, Midnight Moonlight, E: Deal

Comment: Frank Zappa closed.
Lineup: Jerry Garcia Band: Jerry Garcia, DeeDee Dickerson, John Kahn, David Kemper, Jaclyn LaBranch, Melvin Seals